Organizer, Background & Mission


    • To encourage OEM to ODM and OBM transformation
    • To build Hong Kong as an Asia design product sourcing hub
    • To nurture design talents
    • To enhance awareness of Hong Kong smart design in locally & internationally


Chairman cum Project Convenor's Remarks

The Hong Kong Smart Design Awards (HKSDA) has been devoted to unveil the brilliance of Hong Kong original design to the world and encourage local manufacturers and exporters to reform business strategy in attaining “Design x Strategy x Technology = Smart Business” since 2012.
Marching to its 10-year milestone, HKSDA has become an industrial signature event among local sectors including gifts, product design and procurement and built renowned reputation of its quality among overseas buyers through an a spectrum of local and oversea activities catering for both B2B and B2C, i.e. trade fairs to reach out buyers, roving exhibition in shopping malls or community to raise public’s awareness of HKSDA.
Over the years, HKSDA keeps its dynamic momentum by the expansion of eligible product category from Gifts to Home & Houseware (launched in 2017 edition) and Toys & Games (launched in 2020 edition). It aims at further extending the beneficiaries to enlarge the pool of design talents to be nurtured to achieve the ultimate goal “Brand Hong Kong as the most influencing Design Force in Asia”.
Mr. Benson PAU
Chairman, The Hong Kong Exporters' Association
HKSDA Project Convenor

Advisory Committee

Mr. Benson PAU

Chairman, HKEA
Project Convenor of HKSDA

Mr. Gray Leung

GC member, HKEA

Mr. Ken Fung

Council Chairman, FHKI, Design Council of Hong Kong (DCHK)

Ir. Dr. Alfred Tan

Head of Knowledge Transfer Office,
Hong Kong Baptist University

Mr. Ball Cheung

Vice President, IDSK

Dr Lay Lian Ong

Principle & Academic Director, HKDI

Ms. May So

Executive Committee Member, HKDA

Mr. Daniel Chan

Head, Department of Product & Interior Design, HKDI

Mr. Peter Poon

GC member, HKEA

Mr. Ivan Ting

Chairman, HKTC

Mr. Roger Ngan

Executive Vice Chairman,  TMHK

Professor Leslie Chen

Dean of Design and Environment , THEi

Mr. K C Leung

General Committee Member, TMHK